I'm alive (ish) - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Ciaran Helmink - WaarBenJij.nu I'm alive (ish) - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Ciaran Helmink - WaarBenJij.nu

I'm alive (ish)

Door: Ciaran Helmink

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ciaran

12 Februari 2016 | Zuid-Afrika, Genadendal

As I said in my previous blog, I've been ill for the past week or so. But, I got a bit better on wednesday, and I decided to go to school. 'School' as it is called here, was an absolute mess. Teachers saying nothing all lesson (which gave us time to play cards), teachters being late, teachers shouting for no reason-- the list can go on forever. I felt ill that afternoon, so I decided to go to bed once again.

The next day (yesterday) we went to one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen; Table Mountain. At first, we were scared that everything would be clouded. But, once the cable-lift went into the clouds, we arrived at a place that looked something like straight out of a blockbuster film. The sun was shining, and the sky was a clear blue colour. We walked around for +- 1.5 hours before going down again to visit the 'District 6 museum' in Cape Town. Our guide there told us about how the entire coloured population of the district was moved to another place to make room for a white area. It was very impressive and inspiring to hear this man's stories.

That evening, we went to a very rich part of cape town to have dinner by the sea (close to the sea) It was great, but it made you realize how terrible the division of wealth is here. Black people still tend to be the poorer people, whilst white people are usually rich and drive very expensive cars.

Today, we did some social services in the local retirement home. We did next to nothing, but that did give me time to talk to my buddy. We just came back from a primary school, where we're going to give the small lessons I was talking about in my first blog.

The trip is halfway over, and this first half has been an absolute blast. I'm looking forward to the second one

Dankie,

Ciaran Helmink

ps: as for me being ill; I feel slightly better, but I'm still pretty tired all the time. Ergo, I'm getting there

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ciaran

Hello! My name is Ciaran Helmink, and this is my travel blog! Enjoy your stay!

Actief sinds 24 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 232
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4010

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Januari 2016 - 31 December 2016

Reis Zuid-Afrika

Landen bezocht: